Skip to content

Devon Social Care

Different council responsibilities

Councils have different levels – these are called tiers.

  • The first tier is county councils
  • The second tier is made up of district, city or borough councils
  • The third tier is made up of town or parish councils

County councils

County councils cover a very large area with between half and one and a half million people living there.

These are the services that county councils provide with partners (different organisations):

District councils

There are eight district councils within Devon:

District councils cover

  • Local planning
  • Council housing
  • Devon home choice
  • Homelessness
  • Benefits
  • Refuse collection
  • Street cleaning
  • Sports and leisure facilities
  • Environmental Health

Parish or town councils cover

  • Allotments
  • Playing fields
  • Village greens
  • Swimming pools
  • Bus shelters
  • Public seats
  • Providing halls and meeting places


Welcome to beta.devon, a development environment for all of our web sites and an example of how our information and services are presented.

PLEASE BE AWARE - this is a test website. It may contain inaccuracies or be misleading. remains the official website for county council information and services.

Your suggestions will help us make this site better, so if you have any comments please leave us feedback.

N.B. This site uses 'cookies' and Google Analytics. Closing this page sets a cookie so you don't see it again. There's more information on cookies at